The Christmas Lights

decor3

Dear Christmas Tree,

I recognize that I might not have the stark, conservative look that you’re going for this year. I am not a red globe ornament or a string of white lights. I am however, just as bright as the rest and arguably more festive than any other decoration you have chosen to display.

I started off hanging from a telephone wire in the Hispanic section of town. For several nights out of the year I would glow different colors to symbolize the comfort of home. People loved me. I brought cheer to the poorest of neighborhoods until one day someone said I was a fire hazard. Reluctantly I watched as my place on the block slowly unraveled. Rest assured, my personality would never spark a conversation about destruction. Although I am unique, loved by many, and talked about by all, I do not have a fiery disposition.

My resume includes functions such as: Mardi Gras. Halloween. New Years. And even a few nightclubs. I have experience with all types of people.

While your white and red tree looks quite tasteful in the dining room of our town’s beloved country club, I think it could use a variety of color. I hope you will consider what I have to offer useful.

Sincerely,

– Multicolored Lights

 

http://www.theblaze.com/stories/2015/12/08/coca-cola-yanks-new-racist-christmas-ad-featuring-white-teenagers-doing-good-deeds/

9 thoughts on “The Christmas Lights

  1. Hmm – we had white lights. But our ornaments included flamingos with fluffy feathers, a rather pleasantly plump mermaid in a bathtub, Power Puff Girls ornament and sparkly Seahorses. Does that balance the pretentiousness of white lights out?

  2. This was awesome!! My parents always use these garish, multicolored christmas lights on the christmas tree. They used them again last year to my great consternation (I hid them, but they must have found them). I continuously pulled the plug out for them so only the incandescent golden lights were on. Now I feel bad!! haha

Leave a Reply

