The Mop

Image

Photo by Linda Daunter

I’ve been pushed around all my life, but it’s never bothered me. The hands that touch my surface can only strengthen my core. I’ve watched other mops come and go in the business and they all have the same disposition. They complain, they whine and eventually they snap.

The first time I met Sally, she seemed like a rag doll right from the start. She had blond stringy hair and a natural knack for playing the victim. She used to tell me about the all nighters at the University of Virginia cafeteria. She would push her soppy sad story along the linoleum floor with a vengeance that served no one. Did the janitor care? No. Did the students care? No. Did I care? No.

I said to her: You are nobody’s toy.

I prefer not to think of myself as a mere object, but instead as a tool to make life more beautiful and manageable for the people around me. Am I used? Perhaps. Am I useful? Absolutely.

  • A Word Of Substance is currently accepting submissions of photography. Your photograph must be of an object to be published on the blog. If interested, please submit your photograph and the name in which you’d like to have appear on the blog to: Alicealgood@gmail.com

5 responses to “The Mop”

  1. Great story–the girl pushing her “soppy” sad story along is great wordplay (and alliteration); and the twists of diction that make the young woman seem more like a mop are par excellence. FWIW, I’ll try to tweet your photography request later this evening, if that’s OK with you. Also, you might try RedStuffDan (here on WordPress), if you know him. There are tons of talented photographers on WP, of course, but I just saw his “Sunday best” come up in my reader, and he has several photos of ‘objects’ that would work really well for prompts, I think. I don’t know him personally, though, so I don’t know if he would be interested.

    Like

  2. Well I totally enjoyed your story, and it reminds me of our book Purse’averance. A story of inanimate things that fill our lives. Go to our website and see what you think!
    Alexis Campbell Jansky
    Solo Press II

    Like

  3. Love what you’ve done with this!

    Like

  4. Lol…love your objectifications…really fun and interesting!

    Like

Leave a comment