The Digital Age

Image

Photograph by Brett O’Connor

I used to wonder whether I felt anything at all. But how can I be wondering if I have no feelings? The transparent blueness of my very self seems tinged with an overly emotional spark. If I were painted black, I’d be dark, but that’s not the case. Instead I’m transparent – you can see right through me.  Wires rush in and out, carrying bits of information that I spit out into bigger forms of communication. 

On. Off. I am blue. You are green. Yes. No. Ready – go. 

I used to wonder whether what I said had meaning, but who needs meaning when you have information?

5 responses to “The Digital Age”

  1. I’m beginning to think we all have too much information these days 🙂

    Like

  2. i appreciate how your word play.

    Like

  3. I really enjoy reading this from the perspective of the object. I somehow related to the first part which is making me wonder a few things.

    Like

  4. YOUR imagery is admired!
    Thank-you very much for bringing me here. I must come back and visit longer.
    Tara

    Like

  5. The last sentence is great!
    “I used to wonder whether what I said had meaning, but who needs meaning when you have information?”

    Like

Leave a comment