The Office Chair

officecahir.jpg_large

Dear Office Chair,

We’ve been together a long time now, but I’m afraid I’m going to have to call it quits. When we first met, I was young, flexible, and could handle anything. Even your rigidity.

When we touched, you were like ice. Cold and sturdy, you never caved. At first I thought your solidity was key to our success, but then something happened. I became restless.

My weight was too much for you and I could feel it. When I begged for comfort, you refused. You held fast to your position, making it clear that you would not budge. You would not cradle my body in your non-existent arms. You would not soften my aches and pains.

Last week, I met someone new. Someone who was both sturdy and supportive. You were my first and I will always remember you, but sadly, you are not my last.

-Employee

 

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2015-11-04/tips-for-working-at-a-standing-desk/6908666

17 thoughts on “The Office Chair

  1. Dear Employee,
    This new chair in your life is just temporary. He’s no match for me. I promise you that you will regret leaving me. We had something special. Remember that chair that disappeared from your office. I know I said that I wasn’t responsible. But he just looked at you the wrong way. I’m telling you that you don’t want to replace me. We’re a perfect couple.
    Your Chair for life.

  2. I hate giving up old clothes, old refrigerators, old cars. But honestly, until I read this delightful post I had never thought of having to part with my office chair. It will be a sad day.

Leave a Reply

