The Shutters

shutterslarge

“What about that lady?”
“She’s in the PTA, it can’t be her.”
“But look at her makeup. She’s wearing cheap gunky mascara and black eyeliner at the same time.”
“It’s not her, I know her son. He’s on the honor roll.”
“What about that one, across from the Whitticker’s lawn?”
“She’s head of the tennis club. It can’t be her son either.”
“I heard she had an affair with the man on Holloway drive.”
“But her son is too old to throw rocks at our window.”
“What about her?”
“The woman walking down our street?”
“I think she has a tattoo.”
“Where? I can’t see it.”
“Exactly.”
“Does she have a son?”
“Probably.” The shutters shuddered. Their instant reaction banged lightly against the broken window, reminding them constantly of their place in the world.
“I bet her son is the delinquent.”
“Absolutely.”
“I don’t trust people that are so closed off.”

http://www.wsbtv.com/news/news/local/neighbors-taking-woman-court-repeatedly-calling-co/nqcy4/

7 responses to “The Shutters”

  1. Very interesting and intriguing; well-written dialogue. Very good! 🙂

    Like

  2. Very well-written dialogue. Sounds like a conversation my parents might have, or rather my mother would lead the conversation and my father would say whatever he needs to say to get back to his TV.

    Yup, my mother is that woman who knows everybody’s business (even though none of the neighbors actually speak to her). Not only does she know everyone’s business but she believes she’s entitled to pick their lives apart, as in “Margaret from two doors down, she drinks, the inside of her house must look like a wreck”, meanwhile she’s never been inside Margaret’s house to see how clean it is.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Very well done…definitely gives me the shudders.

    Like

  4. Fascinating and Eye Catching

    Like

  5. some really really snappy realistic dialogue here. Great personification of the shutters too. Good rye humour
    Thanks for the post
    Adhunt x

    Like

  6. The humor is very neoteric; the simple events of life are captured brilliantly on the canvas of prose. Anand Bose from Kerala

    Like

Leave a comment