The Plushie

furby-974922_960_720

Dear Furby,

I know you think this is the place to be. You see the pre-packaged meals with their wrinkled vegetables, cubed meat, and watery potatoes and conclude: that’s the machine that makes them coveted.

I understand the transformation is tempting. I open the door for non-desirable and inedible food. Everyone wants bagel bites. Everyone likes diet dinners. My magic overwhelms those of a lazy disposition no matter their financial situation. In three minutes, I can make anything attractive.

Except I can’t. I can make certain things irresistible, but when it comes to a hideous stuffed animal that’s not actually squishy, there’s just nothing I can do. I have explained this multiple times.

Nevertheless, one of your friends will settle itself against my warm light, waiting for the inevitable transition. Time after time it insists this experience will be different. It isn’t. It never is.

Sure, for the first ten or fifteen seconds there is a certain glow to the future of belonging. Furr sticks together, forming a thick quality that wasn’t there before. But then, just one minute later, all hope melts.

Insides slope downward. Claws turn to paws. Feet fuse to a plastic floor.

Then comes the electricity. It starts with just one spark, but before two minutes, shiny metallic stars erupt from both ears.

This can’t last, but so long, furbys think. It can.

Flames, fleeing from the sides of both arms explode from somewhere within. The heat becomes unbearable. There is nothing I can do to stop it.

I told you it wouldn’t work, I say, but by then it doesn’t matter. Tears of melted eyelashes and plastic eyeballs droop to the floor.

They will never be attractive.

You will never be attractive.

Although I understand the hope for metamorphosis, please don’t use me for your idea of beauty.

It’s not worth the time.

Sincerely,

The Microwave

_______________________________________________

 

For help with publishing, visit: http://www.PublicationAdvisors.com

9 responses to “The Plushie”

  1. I could picture the entire destruction of the Furby perfectly.
    Nice write.

    Like

  2. Wow this is so creative! I feel the exact same way about furbies haha. I don’t know how you can write an amazing piece of writing about a Furby, but you did it! Well done 😀 xxxx ❤

    Like

  3. 😦 Poor Furby. They don’t look very intelligent it’s true.

    Like

  4. Awwwe!! I wonder what happened to Furby!

    Like

  5. Ah…..the microwave….the new alpha dog of the kitchen!

    Like

  6. Love this… well written nice ending 🙂

    Like

  7. I attempted to run over the furby left in my top draw as a practical joke. It was like driving over a rock…I left it in the dumpster. I found this to be well written and enjoyable. Great conclusion.

    Like

  8. This post is endearingly original. Loved it!

    Like

Leave a comment