The Prayer Flag

prayer

 

I have a confession to make. I heard everything you were saying that night on the porch. In the alley. On the beach.

I hear them all. All the time. I hear them even when you’re fine.

Somebody wants a boyfriend for the 8th grade dinner dance. Someone wants a raise. I know the man who cheated on his wife and I know his remorseful ways.

I heard the child in the bathroom stall, pleading the school would fall down

and I heard the teacher in the other room, wishing they’d all drown.

I have to pick wisely, I keep telling you all. At the right time for the right cause, I answer the right call.

Like the woman in the hospital who really might have died

or when a man was almost jailed because of someone else’s lie.

But I have to tell you everything because without it I won’t make sense.

I lost my ears in a city park. The world became too tense.

 

13 responses to “The Prayer Flag”

  1. Awesome just brilliant👏👌

    Like

  2. Maria Magrietha Etheridge Avatar
    Maria Magrietha Etheridge

    Love The Prayer Flag! Especially the bit about the lost ears…

    Like

  3. Imagery makes me think. It’s the best way to experience verse. Thanks.

    Like

  4. Delighted to meet you and even lovelier to read your very beautiful verse.

    Like

  5. Great read! Love the playful rhythm throughout.

    Like

  6. Beautifully projected, You are in touch with Your Truth. When we live our truth, God, the universal energy that binds us all…becomes transparent. keep shining Your light, have an elevated and beautiful journey

    Like

  7. Elegantly written x

    Like

  8. On target! I hear you too!

    Like

Leave a comment