The Lantern

I want to be just like the other two. This is my dream. When I close my eyes and see who I really am, I know I’m exactly like them. 

I really am just like the other two. We’re the same color. We have the same movements. I just haven’t clicked on for awhile.

Once I click on, I know we’ll be the same. It just takes a certain Je ne sais quoi. Once I click on, I’ll have the same light. We’ll all beam brightly together.

I would be just like the other two if I could figure out the switch. It was once turned on, I swear. One of them said I was so much brighter. The other one didn’t say a thing. If I could just remember how to press the right button, we’d literally all be the same.

I heard one of them say to the other that our room was a complete dump. I asked why, but they said I wouldn’t get it. I thought about asking again later on, but I’m glad I can’t see what they know.

8 responses to “The Lantern”

  1. Love this and all of your pieces; what great perspective! Thanks for writing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. i confess to doing that too. relax it s only life. and it s ephmeral

    Like

  3. It’s very special, the way you treat a simple lantern is astounding. Very well written.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love this…it’s so very original…Such a unique premise and the repeated thought stated differently each time, really works so well: ” we’d literally all be the same.”

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Enjoyed reading this. I was particularly interested how one of the lit lamps insisted the narrator was “so much brighter” and yet all the narrator wanted to be was just the same as them.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Your content is so interesting!!! Im going to have fun looking through and keeping up to date. Thanks for reading my posts 🙏🏽❤️

    Like

Leave a comment