The Dresser

Free: Pickup Required

This dresser has served me very well over the past several years. When I was in elementary school I was dressed with immense care. No Disney characters were used. My pants were real denim.

As a teen I started to appreciate the scent of deep drawers. I stored all kinds of stuff in there. Ripped jeans, flannel shirts, even my favorite STYX cassette were completely safe.

There are no holes in the dresser. It’s still sharp. On point.
This dresser has never broken down.

When I moved to my first apartment the dresser came with me. It wasn’t of much use. I kept finding myself clawing through orange ties and polyester pants. Something had irritated the wood.

I tried to overlook this fact and brought it to my new home, but we both felt awkward on the stairs. Although the dresser was once smooth and well-adjusted, it’s a little too damaged for the bedroom.

We had good times, my dresser and I, but now I’m giving it away. For those who need a competent dresser, the composition is incredibly deep.

10 responses to “The Dresser”

  1. old things new for once the word familiar has a pleasant meaning. well written!~

    Like

  2. Love this. Thank you. I have quite the old dresser myself.

    Like

  3. I love these short story posts about furniture. If only the pieces really did tell their stories! Very creative, dear!

    Like

  4. Hi There,
    I have a relationship blog and was wondering if you might like to consider working together to formulate a new idea?

    Like

    1. Hello – I’d love to know more.

      Like

  5. My grandmother had a similar vanity. It’s lovely. I hope it finds a grand new home.

    Like

  6. I love old furniture. It has a story to tell.

    Like

  7. You know, one of my dressers I had from the age of eleven or twelve up until adulthood. It was still in pretty good condition.

    I also remember how certain family members would keep moth balls inside their dresser drawers to keep the clothing smelling fresh.

    Like

  8. Amazing concept! You blog is one of a kind.

    Like

Leave a comment