The Glasses

I haven’t seen you in many years, but now it seems you’re back. I made the switch from contacts just last week.

Like when women cut their hair at fifty or men prefer Whole Foods, glasses are a comfort fit for age.

The last time we were together I was eleven. Jennifer S. threw you against a chalkboard before beating me up after math.

I got contacts and boys saw me. I got bangs and went to homecoming.

After years of makeup and tight-fitting spandex, I forgot how I love the way you feel.

11 responses to “The Glasses”

  1. That is an amazing picture! As someone who has worn glasses since he was three years old and who only rarely wears contacts, I think I have a different relationship with eyeglasses than you do. However, like you, I do associate glasses with maturity and contacts with (relative) youth…

    Like

  2. grew a beard
    felt weird
    signs of life and aging

    Like

  3. Love it 😀

    Like

  4. Short and sweet. 😀

    Like

  5. I love the way you have given life to an inanimate object!

    Like

  6. Good allegory for aging – thank you,

    Like

  7. Has Jenn S read this? 😉

    Like

  8. Is that Tiffany Amber Thiessen during Saved by the Bell? Nice

    Like

  9. I love your posts

    Like

Leave a comment