Blank Page

padPhotograph by Tom Haynes: http://www.craigativity.wordpress.com

Dear Starkness, my old friend,

You weren’t so desperate when we first met. Your body was pregnant with the possibility of adventure. All I had to do was think and you came to life. So eager were you to expose the markings of my ink that I turned red. Now when I try, everything comes out stale. You ruined it. You made me your everything just so you could stare blankly into space while I tried. And I tried so hard.

– a crimson pen

11 responses to “Blank Page”

  1. Hah. Genius. Period.

    Like

  2. Love it! This is such a clever idea. I’ve got to find a photo!

    Like

  3. Oh the fear and excitement of facing that blank page! You’ve summed it up perfectly.

    Like

  4. Oh how sad, the relationship is broken. Many thanks for stopping by my blog again. I appreciate it.

    Like

  5. So many words all are trying to rush out, all I can simply say is bravo. If anyone ever asks me about writers block again I’m directing then here.

    Like

  6. thanks for the like and I adore the Simon and Garfunkel reference. Interesting blog.

    Like

  7. Sometimes the blank screen is more intimidating than the words in my head. http://jeanswriting.com/

    Like

  8. Nice photograph and story. Blank pages are intimidating for sure, but to me they’re also quite exciting when I have a game plan for my writing.

    Like

  9. […] Blank PageIn “flash fiction” […]

    Like

Leave a comment