The Curtains

IMG_20150313_144320

My curtains are worn out, but they keep dancing. A full blooming yellow, they are optimistic.  Light and soft. Old, but alive.  I open my window and they breathe, expanding material outward. Their shadows scatter for the corners.  Gray is a wall flower that’s never painted on fabric.


  • A Word Of Substance is currently accepting submissions of photography. Your photograph must be of an object to be published on the blog. If interested, please submit your photograph and the name in which you’d like to have appear on the blog to: Alicealgood@gmail.com

6 responses to “The Curtains”

  1. I really like that last line. Very evocative.

    Like

  2. I like the image of the curtains blowing in the wind. Thanks for stopping by my blog once again.

    Like

  3. Yellow is a good colour for curtains – especially on a grey morning. Thanks for a promise of sunshine.

    Like

  4. “I open my window and they breathe!” Beautiful! 🙂

    Like

  5. This is really sweet!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment