The Bus

bus

The neon blue light of the bus tints the aisle, lighting up everyone’s face until they look like ghosts. I study the unmoving mouths of the passengers as they claim various blue and white plastic seats. No one talks much on the night line.

I watch as an old woman pushing a shopping cart sits in the seat across from me. She’s chewing something, but she never swallows. Her cheekbones are sharp and one eye is wandering across the left side of her vision. I can’t look at her. She’ll talk to me.

That’s what happens when you’re nice to people. If you smile, they sit next to you. If you nod when they talk, they’ll never stop. Headphones and long jackets. I want my hair to cover my face.

I look down at my hands. My fingernails are light blue to match my sweater. My mp3 player with the missing battery cover is jammed into one of my many coat pockets. From the look of the dangling white cord in front of me, I could have an ipod.  I’m not going to end up homeless, I keep chanting in the back of my head as I try not to look at the woman. Just because I don’t smile at her, doesn’t mean that this will someday happen to me.

The thoughts are drowned out by a rustling sound. I can feel a light warmth on the top of my scalp. I shake my head. The warmth grows. I can feel it clinging onto each strand as I try to shake the feeling. Immediately I turn to face the person behind me.

Eye crinkles and white hair. This man is just as old as the woman across from me. His eyes are dead and far off. I can smell alcohol on his breath. His hands are shaking and I can see strands of my hair wrapped around his little finger. They stick straight out in four static lines.

“Excuse me,” I look around the bus for anyone to help me. How could someone think this is okay? The woman with the lazy eye is staring in two different directions. One eye looks to the left. One eye is rummaging through her shopping cart. I am just as invisible as I never wanted to be.

12 responses to “The Bus”

  1. Good shit.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful writing in the first person; which connects so well with readers. Love the character in only a few words. Great job 🙂

    Like

  3. Excellently observed! Even in confinement we live in bubbles.

    Like

  4. Little details giving such a rounded picture and your final sentence a perfect summation. I very much enjoyed the read.

    Like

  5. zacharybinks19 Avatar
    zacharybinks19

    HOLY SHIT DUDE! Good piece, from life? If so, DAMN!

    Like

  6. Matthew Chiglinsky Avatar
    Matthew Chiglinsky

    You wanted someone to help you? That is why women get victimized. If you wanted help, you should have brought it with you (like a friend or a mate). Otherwise, you’re on your own.

    My response would have been more like “What the f***?!?” and it would have been loud, enough for the entire bus to hear me. I would have also grabbed his f***ing hand and squeezed until he cried in pain. An aggressive action justifies an aggressive response. There’s a reason people are afraid of wolves and bears.

    It may be a point of irony that I got my temper from my angry mother, although I’m even better at expressing it than she is.

    Like

  7. A creepy story for sure. Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    Like

  8. I really enjoyed reading your story, you have a unique writing style. Keep it up!

    Like

  9. Geat attention to detail here and some lovely description. Would like to know how this bus journey turns out,

    Like

  10. Abeer Almajali Avatar
    Abeer Almajali

    Your style is beyond fascinating! Love it.

    Like

  11. Beautiful prose. You do such a beautiful job of allowing your readers to share in the narrators experience; thus, live through her eyes. Love the use of language and descriptions. Everything is woven together so perfectly.

    Like

  12. Awesome stuff…I just love the style and the manner in which it hooks the reader in from line 1.

    Like

Leave a comment