The Straw

straw

Photograph by Tom Haynes

http://www.TheDrabble.wordpress.com

Dear Potential Date,

I will let you know how I feel at all times. I’m very up front. I’m attracted to naturally red, full lips. No lipstick, please. I also prefer real beauty. I’m very picky when it comes to looks. If you’re older than thirty, please don’t reply.

I’m not the kind to call back right away. If we have a good time, I’ll let you know, but I’m not into that whole clingy thing. My idea of a perfect date is hanging out in bars that serve Belgian beer in a glass. No bottles for me. If you’re too cheap to buy your own drinks, please, don’t respond to this ad.

I’m looking for a carefree type. Not the kind that’s going to hold me down. Not the kind that’s going to get mad every time I’m with another. I can’t be tied down right now. I prefer more of the Bohemian lifestyle.

In short, shoot me an email if you don’t suck. (I already do that well enough on my own)

– The Straw

12 responses to “The Straw”

  1. So poignant, so subtle. Love this piece.

    Like

  2. Not bad for a girl.

    Like

  3. thanks visiting my blog and the like on “Wisteria and Butter Beans” 🙂
    I have enjoyed reading your blog and will continue to visit!
    Myra

    Like

  4. The double entendres in this post are to DIE for!
    Wonderful read, and I thank you for that. 😉

    Like

  5. haha, this one is too good. So where do I mail ? 😛

    Like

  6. I liked this and I love the concept of your blog. Look forward to following and hope you’ll do the same.

    😉 ejc
    photobyejc.com

    Like

  7. This was fantastic. I didn’t read it properly the first time and thought it was an very rude ad for a girlfriend (I know someone who has marketed themselves via social media to find love so am now open minded). Then I realised it was the POV of the straw, very clever!

    Like

  8. feministfudge Avatar
    feministfudge

    Hahaha this made me chuckle. Nice!

    Like

  9. I’ll never look at a straw the same way again! Your writing tickles me. I will definitely stop by again and read some more when I’m finished replying to this ad.

    Like

  10. Beautifully written. ☺

    Like

  11. Not the kind that’s gonna hold me down.. nice! 😀

    Like

Leave a comment