“The Likes” of You

hands-woman-laptop-notebook-large

‘Like’ used to be more optimistic. It was happy with family reunions, weddings, and job interviews. Nestled at the bottom of something grandiose, it was a humble smile. A thumbs up for success.

‘Like’ made its way through family albums, wedding events, and dinners with old friends from college. ‘Like’ was there for the video of your friend playing with the lobsters before supper. It was a funny gesture, something admired and memorable. ‘Like’ valued this in the way it made its presence known.

But then ‘Like’ became popular. Everyone wanted a thumbs up and pictures became desperate. That smiling selfie you took, gazing up at a cell phone camera with newly applied makeup, captured a child’s face rather than an adult. Big eyes, small mouth.  ‘Like’ enjoyed stalking.

‘Like’ showed up to all the biggest parties. Even if it didn’t actually like being there.

The Halloween bash where your friend threw up all over the backseat of your mom’s car? That party was liked. The obituary of a distant relative that was met more than once? That was liked too.

‘Like’ became snarky. Hard edged thumbs felt more like middle fingers. After years of polite smiles, ‘Like’ finally met its match. Dislike was on the horizon.

22 responses to ““The Likes” of You”

  1. Haha. Very good writing! I’m interested to see how the dislike button will work on FB. Just as ‘like’ it could have dangers of it’s own.

    Like

    1. That is very true. People will find a way to abuse and misuse anything. I wish social media was like Pandora lmbo. . . the more I “dislike” certain types of content the less it shows on my feed! Eh, wishful thinking I suppose.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ironic that I hit “like” on this post?

    Like

    1. Came here to say that… But we like what we like.

      Like

      1. Me, too. When I clicked the Like button for this post, I immediately realized the irony.

        Like

    2. I too, paused for a brief second over the “like” button. But I do like this post. So I gave it a tap. 🙂

      Like

  3. And that is exactly how Zuckerberg should have made the announcement! “After years of polite smiles, ‘Like’ finally met its match. Dislike was on the horizon.”
    Great post 😀

    Like

  4. As Facebook increasingly becomes more political and polarized, not having a “dislike” button is becoming an hindrance.

    Like

  5. So in love with your posts, always very well written, yaasss

    Like

  6. Excellent writing! Wonderfully observed!

    Like

  7. Dare I say liked?👍🏻

    Like

  8. I truly love your style of writing. So creative!

    Like

  9. Ah, the sad story of the meteoric rise and fall of the (in)famous starlet Like.
    The perfectly phrased turning point: “‘Like’ showed up to all the biggest parties. Even if it didn’t actually like being there.” Nicely done.

    Like

  10. True. I remember the first time someone posted horrible news and someone “liked” it because they couldn’t be bothered to leave a sympathetic comment. These are dark times.

    Like

  11. Great piece. I’ve always been annoyed by people who “like” negative things. “I had the worst day at work!” “(Your Mom) likes this.” It’s a recurring problem that I’ve noticed with older Facebook users. They just click that “like” button to acknowledge what you’ve said and don’t think through the ramifications of you reading: “So and so likes the fact that you have strep throat.”

    The dislike button is long overdue.

    Like

  12. Sorry, I just couldn’t bring myself to ‘like’ this piece, but it was rather spot on 😉

    Like

  13. Yep…Dislike showed up with the twins “Unfriend & Delete”!

    Like

  14. ‘Like’ is just a tool which showcases how ‘popular’ you are.

    Like

  15. Yes, it felt a bit hypocritical liking this post but I ENJOYED it – is that a better word? Words can really hurt so using them so loosely on social media is a potential catastrophe for sensitive people. This is why I think that Facebook is evil – perhaps that word is a little strong? Manipulative, greedy, narcissistic, bullying – and that is just the Facebook company not the oblivious users. All this from a WordPress blogger – no irony there!

    Like

  16. I love this post. And, actually, since I don’t have FB this is the first I’ve heard of a dislike button. Nice job tapping into the contradictions of social media. LIKE.

    Like

  17. I ‘like’ this post but certainly not in an ironic way. Very good indeed.

    Like

Leave a comment