The Bracelet

brace

 

It’s hard to always sparkle. The constant gleaming reflection gets old. Who are those people who stare at me with the greedy eyes? As if stares were rich and darkness was poverty, I pretend I’m worth more than their pockets.

A man came up to me last week, trying to put me in a box. I would make his wife so happy. She would gasp, lovingly gazing into his eyes, and melt like the gold I am not.

“Only $6.00,” said the girl with platinum highlights. “Your lucky day!”

The men always pause, as if genuinely deciding, before moving on to another glass case. Another section of the store. Another store all together.

 

But I always sparkle for the girls. They point, specifically to my beauty, and slide me against their wrist. Hand in hand we decide in unison all the places we’ll dazzle together.

“Only $6.00,” the girl behind the counter doesn’t have to tell them they’re lucky. They pay with their last crumpled bill.

8 responses to “The Bracelet”

  1. I really enjoy your quirky stories. Hope everything is going well for you…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Always wondered what inanimate objects thought.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Haha, brilliant point of view!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I only had to read this one post to know that you are good. Keep it up.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Stephanie Raine Avatar
    Stephanie Raine

    This is so good.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. You transform trivia into a objet d’ art.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Hey! This is a really unique space you have here. I read a few of your posts at random but they were all lovely. This one, especially.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment