The Trash

trash

Dear Trash,

I don’t know if it’s me or you.

Are you only attracted to something sturdy because you’re rachet? If I’m your last resting place, who was your first?

It’s always the same. Cheap white plastic drooling at the corners. I see you straggle in. You tell stories about parties while I hear who used you. Friends, you say. They’ll never see you again. You smell like flavored apple cigars, but the good kind.

How could you know the difference?

Empty boxes of cigarettes with the foil left shining almost look like chocolate. It’s a special treat., you claim. Every time it opens up, the packaging is still inside.  

Or maybe it’s me. I like to be the protector: the white night in the morning. I love the way you shine even when you’re empty. Don’t tell me you haven’t felt the way I hold on.

I know you hate everything, but you know you love me. 

I make you you belong.

 

Sincerely,

Your dumpster fire

10 responses to “The Trash”

  1. I wonder….did it respond..:)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Haha nice post☺

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Okay. You gots something going on here.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love your imagination and descriptiveness! A true writer! Keep on going!
    Kim Kern

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Interesting take on a story based on the contents of a trash can. But I must admit it has given me something to think about as I seem to have reached a void with regards subjects to write about.

    Like

  6. Really enjoyed the symbolism in this one. Thank you for sharing. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Wow! I really enjoyed that. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. essenceoftimeblog Avatar
    essenceoftimeblog

    ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment