The Fabric

jcrew

How is this possible? You’re telling me, I can’t sit on the grass, collar popped and comfortably breathe in the fresh air? You’re telling me the polo match is canceled? What about the vineyard itself? Is it, too, closed to the public?

And what is “public” anyway? Children in stained shorts? Walmart? What about the private sector? What about the natural, organic spread of pure material? 100% wool vests? Unmixed cotton? You’re telling me we’re no longer invited?

I demand a refund. I wasn’t made to sit, holed up in some closet, only to wither away from society. The public pool may be closed, but my family owns a house on the lake. No, not the lake you’re thinking about. The lake. I’ve been going for years.

You can’t tell me to close up shop. I live in Tyson’s Corner. I was born for a high end lifestyle and I won’t tolerate quitters. You think you can tell me what to do? Who’s your boss? I want to speak to the manager.

4 responses to “The Fabric”

  1. Fantastic! Truly.. I shared it here..

    https://grumpysgiftspoetry.org/2020/06/02/the-fabric-a-word-of-substance

    Full credit given, of course. Cheers. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is really great. “the” lake…..quite a portrait!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Brilliant! I want to speak to the manager.

    Like

Leave a comment