The Mall

Dear Sears,

I know I don’t know you super well, but I always liked bumping into you. You were kind of like a staple. I want to say you had a mint green sign with block letters, but I could be wrong. Mint green just seems to fit. Not because it’s cheap, I didn’t mean that. It’s fresh. Like something new and today.

Maybe it wasn’t green. You were more like a “basics” store, but not like “basic” basic. You were the one moms went to when their kids needed a portable basketball hoop. I think you also sold lawnmowers?

When I heard you were closing, all I could think about were those catalogues with the points so that the more you bought, the more you saved. I think there was a point system for Marlboros too, but that definitely wasn’t as wholesome.

In the early days, back before flat screens, did you sell Betamax? Most people don’t like videos anymore, I sell them as vintage collectors items. They aren’t actually showcased. People have to know about them to buy one. 

It’s a shame we didn’t connect. I remember the deluxe patio set with the grill and spatula sold together. You had the cardboard cutouts of two women grilling in fake grass. I think there was a beach ball behind them and a set of melmac. That was so you. Am I right?

  • Belk 

12 responses to “The Mall”

  1. Online platforms killed a lot of department stores. It killed our Robinson’s Department Store that was here 160 years! Founded in 1858, I used to go there to buy quality bedlinens and crockery. Covid-19 Pandemic just shuttered them faster as footfall dropped. I understand besides Sears in USA, Nordstrom also went bust. So Robinson’s recently returned as an online store and hopefully Sears might perhaps?

    Like

  2. Oh Belk! You really knew the softer side of Sears.

    Like

  3. There is no online store that matches the scent of a Sears in full bloom, with washer-dryers bumping up against chainsaws and telephones while canvas work-shirts wave from distant displays. The organized randomness of Sears had a charm not shared by robot software suggesting “users like you also liked this.”
    Farewell, Sears. Enjoy a happy retirement in our collective memory.

    Like

  4. Montgomery Ward, Robert Hall, so may others. Clever sign-off. Good read. So much society and economy to study here – internet, Chinese goods (in the US), outsourcing (again in the US and, I suspect elsewhere too), vagaries of youthful preference, mistaken and often ill-applied “eco-this” and “eco-that” all contributors to (what we think of as) ill-timed demise of many icons of the past, commercial, political, familial, and cultural. provoking read. Thanks.

    Like

  5. There is a certain irony, isn’t there, that Sears, Hudson’s Bay, etc… all got their start as mail-order catalogues before (during) transition to mainstay bricks and mortar behemoths only now to be undone by, mail order. Another thoughtful piece of examined reminiscence. Cheers, Troy.

    Like

  6. Rick here. Your style of developing a dialog is one I want to learn from and emulate. Thanks for bringing this topic to mind, with the substance as well as style. Most of our first day of school clothes came from Sears and Roebuck. That was in the 1960s and 70s. They also were easy to work with for my folks with Sears own revolving credit card, which also fed back into the corporation. I don’t think we can remove profitability from outsourcing from the equation related to Sears sad demise, and the Waltons did it better.

    Like

  7. Interesting story

    Like

  8. I worked for Sears Roebuck for four years straight! It was also the place where my mom purchased our fridge and washing machine from back in the day.

    I have fond memories ☺

    Cute post!

    Like

  9. Yes, Sears wasn’t always the trash it went out as. As we older folks know (you might say “speak for yourself” to that and I wouldn’t blame you).

    Like

  10. R.I.P. This reminds me of the glory years when I was a kid. I got dropped off by my parents on my very first date at the indoor mall. We spent a long time in Sears, listening to the Christmas music, playing a little hide and seek, and playing with all the merchandise.
    What a great time to be alive. When my friends and I wanted to have fun we would get dropped off at the mall. They always had a movie theatre placed conveniently by. We could spend time at the mall, exit out the Sears department store, and walk right over to catch a movie. I’ll never forget the glory of staying at the mall with friends until we could catch our showing of the Transformers. I never wanted that time to end.
    Now those are just memories and that mall is a ghost town. Abandoned by online shopping and outdoor malls.

    Like

Leave a comment