Dear Cigarette

_295cigarettePhoto by Tom Haynes

https://tnhaynes.wordpress.com/

 

Dear cigarettes,

When we first met it was like love at first sight. I still remember our late nights out on the town. Back when all we did was go out and dance and have fun everything seemed so innocent. But it couldn’t stay that way. I remember the first night you came over. We were on the porch together, gazing at the stars and pondering the thoughts of the universe. You were so cool – not trying to impress anyone, you let your faults be known. I was okay with it. It’s not like we were exclusive.

But then there was that one day after statistics class. I was frustrated, tired, annoyed with life and you were there. Waiting for me. I told you I couldn’t see you right now, I had to have time to cool off. I had to have my space for a minute. You persisted. You kept telling me you needed me and it was in that moment that I gave in.

It was like you were addicted to the weaknesses in my life. The moments where I felt anxious, upset, depressed or just lonely. You were always around when I needed you, you lived off those times.

You grew demanding. You wanted more money. You wanted more time. You wanted something that I could barely give, but did anyway. When I tried to leave you, you kept coming back. I would see you everywhere. In the neon lit convenient store down the block. In bars we used to go to. Even my porch seemed haunted by you.

I know we’re in an unhealthy relationship. I know I suck when I’m around you. But I just want to say, for all the times I said I hate you, I’ll never fully mean it. There’s always a part of me that lights up.

23 responses to “Dear Cigarette”

  1. Well, I hope its a good-bye letter 🙂

    Like

  2. I can see the return letter, saying something like this: I’ve moved on. You were a great cup of coffee. But now I am with a can of beer. Hope you turn your life around. Maybe you will get together with that lump of sugar you used oogle.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Those little bastards are evil! They want your blood on your hands, I swear…

    Like

  4. You are on the verge of a witty anti smoking campaign! (minus the last paragraph) Really enjoyable read, I could almost hear the soundtrack playing in my head while I read.

    Like

  5. Too funny! Thanks for sharing. And thanks for stopping by my blog. I appreciate it.

    Like

  6. Good one; I wrote something like that to beer a good many years back

    Like

  7. Great post and so original! Quit smoking eons ago. Don’t regret it one bit. Tabasco sauce poured over hot popcorn did the trick for me. Of course I gained twelve pounds, but it was worth it. Scotch and water was my adult beverage of choice at that time. Have not had it since as it is a cue for me. Gin and tonic works just fine.

    Like

  8. This is enormously clever and well-written. The humor is very dry and subtle, and it’s just my cup of tea, as they say. I’m glad I followed you back here. Thanks for visiting my blog.

    Like

  9. oh my gosh!!!1 this is so funny!!!!!

    Like

  10. I don’t smoke, but I know people who do, and it’s a terrible addiction. You have captured the smokers’ feelings, from what I’ve heard from them, so well and authentically. As Rockin Dad says above, this is a really witty anti-smoking advert. I’d say you keep the last two lines of the graf and then sew up the ending differently, et voila. Anyway, a fantastic story that I really admire!

    Like

  11. This is genius conceptualism at its best–you have an awesomely twisted mind! Love it!

    Like

  12. I really liked this post. It was like a trip down memory lane. The style was witty, funny and full of puns … great stuff.

    Like

  13. Even after a decade I cannot forget my best friend, cigarette…how I miss him! (But I’m a better person without him, right?) 😀

    Like

  14. I’m over 10 years since my last. I will always love him, waiting, giving…taking more than I want to give.

    Like

  15. This was great and funny and so true. Smoking is disgusting, smelly, embarrassing yet so satisfying. Truly a little piece of Satan!

    Like

  16. This is brilliant. I’m going to want to share this soon, if I may ?

    Like

      1. Oh thanks. Now what cant I write like you. Just wowww

        Like

      2. Do check if this is alright, feeling so goooood about this one https://innerdialects.wordpress.com/2018/07/26/dear-cigarette/

        Like

Leave a comment