The Candle

candle

 

It’s okay. This crisis wasn’t really about me or her. I’m just concerned about everyone else.  In fact, from a very young age, much younger than most, I realized the sacrifice that some of us were going to have to make. Really, I’m okay with that.  I’ve understood for as long as the earth.

In these trying times, fear not. I will be your light. I can do what no other can. From my ability to see beyond the darkness, I have come to share my wisdom from the humblest of desires: Please. Use me for your guidance. 

I will show you the depths of the shadowy underground that lurks beneath humanity. At first, I thought it was just my ex best friends who were diagnostically inferior. Their facebook pages filled with all the things they can do, but Flash Lights are cheap: too fake for any real intensity. With so many tacky, inspirational quotes, one would think they’d be embarrassed to publish.

“In this horrible aftermath that has taken so many lives, I just want to say thank you. For everyone that believed I can shine.” And then, a day later: “It is during our darkest moments, that we must focus to see the light.”

That was my line. Or it was supposed to be, before she posted it with a photograph of herself standing in the middle of a field with her light switched on. Who wants to gaze at the stars now? Flash lights aren’t free and spontaneous. Flash lights belong in the basement.

But then hundreds of Likes started pouring in. “You’re my rock,” someone commented. She posted a photo of herself nestled up against some parking lot gravel. A dozen hearts appeared. It was horrifically garish at best. 

Out of respect for those in mourning, I refrained from such posts. Instead, I worked on myself. Long nights burning bright on a bedroom table, I watched over those in need. A less glamorous position, some might say. But my power doesn’t come from a button. 

One morning, about a week later, everything became illuminated. In this Chiroscuro lifestyle of selfish extremes, I know how to handle a crisis. I will get us through this. I have  the ultimate glow. 

So to all of my misguided followers out there, fear not. It is not the light we need, but the fire. 

13 responses to “The Candle”

  1. Rock Bollinger Avatar
    Rock Bollinger

    Awesome, I live this. It really brightened up my day!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rock Bollinger Avatar
      Rock Bollinger

      Love*

      Like

  2. Peace within the eye of the storm; the constant.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is great…..I look forward to reading more! Zulu Delta

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great writing! Loved it 🙂

    Like

  5. Wonderful last line!

    Like

  6. Much strength shown in the message of the final paragraph.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. You clearly lack the ego to be a proper matinee idol. So glad!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Well done. I love how you bring objects to life! I feel inspired to give it a try. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Stellar writing. 👌🤗

    Like

  10. I totally agree soooo much! The perfect words to describe all that!!

    Like

Leave a comment